2019 GEM Meeting

Membrane Biophysics of Exo-Endocytosis: From Model Systems to Cells

3-6 Avril 2019, Canne-Mandelieu, Côte d’Azur, France




In 2019, the Membrane Study Group (GEM) will organize its meeting with the Club and the Italian Societies for Pure and Applied Biophysics, Chemistry-Physical Chemistry Division, and Biochemistry-Membranes Group,

This 1st joined meeting will be held from 3-6 April 2019 at a conference site in the South of France, at Canne-Mandelieu, 30 min from Nice international airport.

Exo- and endocytosis are processes by which cells communicate with their environment. Exo- and endocytosis are of recognized importance for diverse fields of science, such as neurobiology, immunology, cellular microbiology, and developmental biology. Aberrant exo- and endocytic processes also contribute to human diseases, e.g. cancer or neurodegenerative conditions. In recent years, it has become increasingly clear that novel opportunities for discovery arise when the most urgent challenges in the field of exo- and endocytic membrane trafficking are addressed from fresh angles based on innovative biophysical tools and concepts. Our meeting aims at bringing biophysicists and cell biologists together to explore these opportunities.


Invited speakers:


-  Lukas Tamm (Virginia, US) (Keynote)

- Wolfgang Baumeister (Munich, Germany) (Keynote)

- Patricia Bassereau (Paris, France)

- Georg Pabst (Graz, Austria)

- Bruno Antonny (Nice, France)

- Maria-Isabel Geli (Barcelona, Spain)

- Mark Sansom (Oxford, England)

- Pierre Sens (Paris, France)

- Debora Berti (Florence, Italy)

- Wanda Kukulski (Cambridge, UK)

- Laurent Blanchoin (Grenoble France)

- Ulo Langel (Stockholm, Sweden)

Organisation committee:


• Isabelle Mus-Veteau (IPMC Nice, GEM president)

• Guillaume Drin (IPMC Nice, GEM SC member)

• Ludger Johannes (Institut Curie Paris, GEM SC member and Exo/Endo Club member)

• Stephanie Miserey-Lenkei  (Institut Curie Paris, Exo/Endo Club President)

• Delphine Muriaux (IRIM, Montpellier, Exo/Endo Club executive council member)

• Cédric Delevoye (Institut Curie Paris, Exo/Endo Club treasurer)

• Giovanna Fragneto (Institut Laue-Langevin Grenoble, GEM Scientific Council (CS) member)

• Valeria Rondelli (University of Milan, steering committee of SIBPA)

• Lorenzo Stella (University of Rome Tor Vergata, member of both SIBPA and SCI)

• Gerardino D'errico (University of Naples Federico II, steering committee of the physical chemistry division of SCI)

• Vito De Pinto (University of Catania, president of the membranes group of SIB)



Congress Home EC & SC News Membership Legal Notice Sponsors History 2017 History 2019 History Science 2018 History 2019
Manager Erick DUFOURC


Allée Geoffroy Saint Hilaire, Bât B14
33600 Pessac
Tél. : +33 (0)5 40 00 68 00

Access map
Informations Legal Notice Last update : 2018-11-12 17:54:59

CNRS Université de Bordeaux Institut Polytechnique de Bordeaux